CIA President’s Award

Established in 1998, the CIA President’s Award is granted to individuals who have made a significant impact on actuarial practice in Canada. Recipients of this award are selected by the CIA’s President for their passion and dedication to the actuarial profession, often demonstrating a commitment to the CIA’s vision of financial security for all Canadians.

2021 award recipients

The 2021 President’s Award was granted to the Chairs of the CIA’s Climate Change and Sustainability Committee (CCSC): André Choquet, Gaetano Geretto, Catherine Jacques-Brissette, and Karen Lockridge. Each has contributed significantly to progressing the topic of climate within the Institute, developing and refining the CIA’s publications on the topic, and offering strategic advice and input to guide the CIA on this important issue.


André Choquet, FCIA, CCSC Chair November 2020 – present

As the current Chair of the CCSC and a member of the committee since 2019, André Choquet has brought his big thinking and drive to the climate portfolio. He has overseen several high-profile statements on behalf of the CIA and built relationships with researchers and think tanks on the topic. As an engaged volunteer for over 20 years, André has also made important contributions to the CIA’s education and public activities. Thank you for your inspiration, André!


Gaetano Geretto, FCIA, CCSC Chair December 2018 – November 2020

During Gaetano Geretto’s term as Chair of the CCSC, from 2018 to 2020, the CIA was extremely fortunate to have such an expert and capable leader to carry forward its major initiatives. Gaetano co-championed the launch of the Time to Act public statement in late 2019, undertaking many stakeholder meetings and building relationships across Canada with governments and organizations. His insight into policy-making and connecting the public-private dots was invaluable toward bringing the authority and recognition of the profession into this process. Thank you for your leadership, Gaetano!


Catherine Jacques-Brissette, ACIA, CCSC Chair September 2016 – December 2018

Catherine Jacques-Brissette was Chair of the CCSC from 2016 to 2018, and an engaged member for several years both before and after. As Chair, Catherine ushered in a period of increasing visibility and support for climate issues, most notably by co-championing the multi-year development and authoring of the CIA’s public statement on climate. Catherine has set a high bar for us all, and her success offers proof that actuaries can make an important contribution to the climate space. Thank you for your passion, Catherine!


Karen Lockridge, FCIA, CCSC Chair May 2014 – September 2016

Karen Lockridge was the first Chair of the CCSC, upon its creation in early 2014. During her tenure, she led the group through major transformations in the way the Institute handled climate issues, including building a presence for climate topics on the website and in CIA webcasts and event programs, and through the CIA’s involvement in the International Actuarial Association. Karen has also offered her time and effort to the CIA in many other volunteer roles for over 25 years. Thank you for your guidance, Karen!