Membership & Education

What is CERA?

The CERA Enterprise Risk Management credential is the most comprehensive and rigorous globally-recognized enterprise risk management (ERM) designation.

In November 2009, 14 actuarial education organizations from around the world took the unprecedented step of agreeing to collaborate to develop and administer a new qualification in ERM, the Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary* (CERA)—a groundbreaking achievement, and the birth of the Global CERA Treaty.

The CERA Global Association (CGA) grants actuarial organizations the right to award the global CERA qualification to individual actuaries who have satisfied the requisite education and training requirements set out in the CERA Global Treaty. 

Why Choose CERA?

The CERA qualification provides risk professionals with strong ERM knowledge that drives better business decisions. Professional, ethical, and trusted, with impeccable standards and integrity, a professional with the CERA qualification is able to effectively communicate ideas with leadership and is qualified to play varying roles within an organization, from risk manager to chief risk officer and more.

CERA’s Dedicated Website

To find out how CERA can enhance your career opportunities, go to the CERA global website.


Should you have a question, please contact Alicia Rollo, director, Education and International Affairs, at or (613) 236-8196 ext. 136.

* All signatories to the treaty use the acronym “CERA”, which variously translates as one of the following, according to local requirements:

  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Actuary