International Recognition of UAP

CIA candidates pursuing the University Accreditation Program (UAP) or traditional examination have many options for international practice.

The CIA is a member of the International Actuarial Association (IAA), and as such, the international portability of the Associate (ACIA)/Fellow (FCIA) designations is an important priority for the CIA.  

The FCIA designation is well-recognized and well-respected internationally, and the CIA, through its high standards for education, will ensure that CIA members continue to be held in high regard.

Casualty Actuarial Society

The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) recognizes CIA UAP credits towards the ACAS and FCAS designations.

American Academy of Actuaries

FCIA achieved partially through UAP credits meets the education requirement of the U.S. Qualification Standards (USQS) set by the American Academy of Actuaries (AAA). A candidate who meets the USQS actuarial experience and the continuing education requirements may qualify as a Member of the AAA (MAAA) and be fully qualified to practice in the US.

An FCIA, MAAA counting three years of actuarial experience including one year in the relevant area of US actuarial practice is fully qualified to sign a statement of actuarial opinion in the US. Click US qualification standards for more details.

To qualify as an MAAA and satisfy legal or regulatory requirements that may be applicable, an FCIA who is a resident of the US for at least three years, or a non-resident or new resident, must certify their familiarity with US laws and practices in their actuarial practice area.

The following actuarial organizations recognize CIA University Accreditation Program (UAP) credits:

•        Actuarial Society of South Africa

•        Actuaries Institute in Australia

•        Institute and Faculty of Actuaries in the United Kingdom

•       Casualty Actuarial Society

The CIA does not guarantee that credits granted to candidates under the CIA UAP will be recognized by any other actuarial organizations towards their actuarial designations. Candidates with Society of Actuaries (SOA) transcripts will not show UAP credits. Note that the SOA Fellowship Admissions Course (FAC) is no longer a requirement for FCIA.

The UAP enables the CIA to grant credits for up to six preliminary professional examinations. Working closely and rigorously with 11 accredited universities across the country, the CIA upholds the highest standards in education.