Associate (ACIA)

Associates of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries are authorized to append to their names with the initials ACIA (Associate, Canadian Institute of Actuaries) or AICA (associé, Institut canadien des actuaires).

Associates will also gain voting rights five full years after they obtain Associate status in the Institute.

Enrolment as an Associate of the Institute may be obtained under one of the following routes:

1. Conventional route – Qualification through CAS or SOA education systems

Enrolment as an Associate under the conventional route requires:

  1. successful completion of the Associate syllabus of the CIA through the University Accreditation Program,* recognized examinations,** or some combination; and
  2. successful completion of the CIA Professionalism Workshop.

* See the University Accreditation Program for important details.
** Recognized examinations are documented in Appendix A of the CIA Education Syllabus.

2. Qualification through other recognized actuarial organization Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (United Kingdom), Institute of Actuaries of Australia (Australia), Society of Actuaries in Ireland (Ireland), Actuarial Society of South Africa (South Africa)

Enrolment as an Associate under this route requires

  1. Associate membership in an actuarial organization recognised by the CIA, by virtue of completing the examinations and any other qualification requirements of that organization; and
  2. successful completion of the CIA Professionalism Workshop.

3. Affiliate route

Enrolment as an Associate under the Affiliate route requires:

  1. that the candidate is living in Canada;
  2. that the candidate holds the status of fully qualified actuary with the actuarial organization from their country of origin, and that organization is a member (in good standing) of the International Actuarial Association;
  3. successful completion of the CIA Professionalism Workshop within the previous five years of the date of application; and
  4. successful completion of educational activities described in a. or b. below:

a) CIA credit for the Society of Actuaries (SOA) Exam LTAM or Exam STAM, Fundamentals of Actuarial Practice (FAP) Modules 1–8 and the FAP Interim and Final Assessments; or

b) CIA Credit for the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) Exam MAS I or MAS II via examination and CAS Online Courses 1 and 2.

For more information please contact [email protected]