Membership & Education


CIA Graduate Scholarship Program

The CIA’s Graduate Scholarship Program promotes graduate-level research or coursework in actuarial science, to accelerate the transfer of new technology and knowledge to the actuarial profession.

Three scholarships of up to $10,000 each are available to eligible full-time master’s students.

Scholarships of up to $5,000 each for eligible part-time master’s students will also be considered.

Apply now. Application deadline for fall 2019: March 31, 2019.

Who is Eligible?

Applicants for fall 2019 must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • As of September 2019, you must be either starting a master’s program in actuarial science or continuing (i.e., began September 2018 or January 2019) a master’s program in actuarial science.
  • Your field of study must be actuarial science or a cognate discipline at a Canadian university. Programs in mathematics, statistics, business, or finance with an actuarial concentration may also be considered, but preference will be given to programs under a recognized actuarial leader/researcher. Master’s programs focused solely on the preliminary actuarial exam syllabus are not eligible.
  • You must hold an undergraduate degree in actuarial science or a related discipline earned before August 31, 2019.
  • You must demonstrate your interest in pursuing a professional actuarial designation. Preference will be given to students pursuing professional actuarial exams and/or CIA University Accreditation Program credits.

While the CIA welcomes applications from students from other countries, preference will be given to Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada.

How to Apply?

Applicants must provide the following:

  • A completed application form;
  • A letter of intent explaining your interest in graduate actuarial studies, which research topic you are pursuing, the actuarial relevance of your master’s program, and your career plan;
  • A current résumé (maximum of two pages);
  • Relevant university transcripts;
  • Relevant professional actuarial organization transcripts (if applicable); and
  • Two letters of reference—from an employer and/or professor(s)—sent directly from the referee to

Selection Criteria and Award Process

The selection committee evaluates applications based on the following criteria:

  • Relevance of the master’s program to actuarial science, the type of program, and the nature of its courses and proposed research;
  • The applicant’s academic and/or professional record (GPA);
  • Results of professional actuarial exams or CIA University Accreditation Program credits;
  • Academic/professional goals;
  • Academic/professional experience;
  • Letters of reference; and
  • Other characteristics, such as communication skills, leadership experience, and extracurricular activities.

Successful applicants will be notified by email and will have 14 days to accept or decline the scholarship offer.

Awards will be granted to successful applicants, not to the host program/institution. Scholarships may be portable within or between programs, as long as recipients continue to meet the award eligibility requirements. Applicants are not restricted from holding scholarships provided by other sources.

Each scholarship will be paid in two equal instalments: one at the beginning of the fall semester (upon proof of enrolment), and one at the beginning of the winter semester, subject to the award holder remaining in good academic standing. If an award holder chooses to defer enrolment in the proposed graduate program to a later date, the recipient must notify the CIA immediately. Note that the approval of the deferral of scholarship funds by the CIA is not guaranteed.

Apply now. Application deadline for fall 2019: March 31, 2019.